Home page
CD index

Songs by Women

Song cycles for soprano and piano by Joyce Hope Suskind, Ruth Schonthal, Elisenda Fabregas and Elizabeth Austin. Susan Gonzalez, soprano; Marcia Eckert, piano. Leonarda CD #LE352. Duration 68:10.

Composers' bios     Musicians' bios     Reviews

CD cover Songs by Women


Songs by Women

Audio Samples

Joyce Hope Suskind (b.1928)
Six Songs to Poetry of Yeats (22:29) (1997)
1. Those Dancing Days Are Gone
2. The Song of Wandering Aengus
3. The Wild Swans at Coole
4. After Long Silence
5. Mad as the Mist and Snow
6. The Lake Isle of Innisfree

3. mp3

5. mp3

6. mp3
Ruth Schonthal (1924-2006)
Frühe Lieder (Early Songs) (21:09) (1940-44) (Rilke)
  7. Meine frühverliehnen Lieder
  8. Arme Heilige
  9. Ihr Mädchen seid wie die Kähne
10. Erste Rosen
11. Liebes-Lied: Wie soll ich meine Seele halten
12. Weisse Seelen
13. Noch ahnst du nichts vom Herbst des Haines
14. Ich will ein Garten sein

8. mp3

9. mp3

13. mp3
Elisenda Fábregas (b.1955)
Five Songs for Soprano and Piano (16:08) (1986) (Lorca)
15. El Silencio
16. La Mano Imposible
17. La Luna Negra
18. Las Seis Cuerdas
19. Clamor

17. mp3

19. mp3
Elizabeth R. Austin (b.1938)
A Birthday Bouquet (8:24) (1990)
20. for your birthday (E. E. Cummings)
21. A Birthday (C. Rossetti)
22. Remember (C. Rossetti)
23. He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven (Yeats)

21. mp3

22. mp3

CD Index
Cassette Index
LP Index
Sheet Music
African-American Index


Production: Recording and some editing by Joe Patrych, Bronx, New York. Final editing and mastering by Marnie Hall. DDD. Graphic Design: Marnie Hall. Cover PaintingWasserschlangen (Sea Serpent) by Gustav Klimt (1862-1918) used by permission of Öesterreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna. Support: This recording is made possible by The New York State Council on the Arts, a state Agency. Additional funding was provided by the The Research Foundation of the City University of New York and individual contributions.

Rights: Copyright © 2002, Leonarda Productions, Inc. All rights reserved. Performing Rights: Schonthal, ASCAP; others, BMI. Music Publishers: Suskind: Casia Music Publishing, distributed by Theodore Presser. Schonthal and Fábregas: Southern Music Company: Art Songs by American Women Composers, a series edited by Ruth Friedberg. Austin: American Composers Alliance.


Links to alphabetical list of composers
Bios, MP3s and links to their recordings at this site

 A   B  C-E F-G H-I J-K  L   M  N-Q  R   S  T-V W-Z