Home page
CD index

The Vocal-Chamber ART
Music by Judith Lang Zaimont

Vocal chamber music for one and two voices with accompaniments that include piano; harp; percussion and piano; and flute, cello and harp by internationally acclaimed American composer Judith Lang Zaimont. Leonarda CD #LE343. Duration 71:52.

Composer bio     Musicians' bios     Notes     Reviews

Vocal Chamber Music cover, Zaimont



Judith Zaimont, Vocal Chamber Music



Greyed Sonnets (13:13) (1975)
1. Soliloquy (Millay)
2. Let it be forgotten (Teasdale)
3. A Season's Song (Millay)
4. Love's Autumn (Millay)
5. Entreaty (C. Rosetti's poem "Echo")

3. mp3

Elena Tyminski, soprano
Judith Lang Zaimont, piano
Chansons Nobles et Sentimentales (12:50) (1974)
  6. Harmonie du Soir (Baudelier)
  7. Chanson d'Automne (Verlaine)
  8. Claire de Lune (Verlaine)
  9. Dans l'interminable Ennui de la Plaine (Verlaine)
10. Départ (Rimbaud)

8. mp3

9. mp3

Charles Bressler, tenor
Judith Lang Zaimont, piano
Songs of Innocence (10:36) (1974) (Wm. Blake)
11. Introduction
12. Elegy ­ The Garden of Love
13. I Asked a Thief
14. How Sweet I Roam'd

13. mp3

14. mp3
Elena Tyminski, soprano
Price Browne, tenor
Patricia Spencer, flute
Barbara Bogatin, cello
Nancy Allen, harp
Roger Nierenberg, conductor
Two Songs for Soprano and Harp (10:14) (1978)
15. At Dusk in Summer (Rich)
16. The Ruined Maid (Hardy)

15. mp3

Berenice Bramson, soprano
Sara Cutler, harp
The Magic World (24:59) (1979-80)
Six songs based on American Indian texts
17. Flower Song
18. Firefly Song
19. Storm Song
20. A Spell to Destroy Life
21. Second Flower Song
22. Elegy Dream Song

19. mp3

20. mp3

22. mp3

David Arnold, baritone
Zita Zohar, piano
Jonathan Haas, percussion



Production: Digitally remastered by Marnie Hall from analog tapes originally released on LP: Chansons Nobles et Sentimentales, Leonarda #LPI 101 (©1979), sound recordist David Barnes. Two Songs for Soprano and Harp, Leonarda #LPI 106 (© 1980), sound recordist John Kilgore. The Magic World, Leonarda #LPI 116 (© 1983), sound recordist Malcolm Addey. Greyed Sonnets and Songs of Innocence, Golden Crest #ATH-5051 (© 1977), sound recordist Gale Greenhouse. ADD. Cover Art: © Gary Zaimont, 1998. Graphic Design: Marnie Hall. Support: This recording is made possible with public funds from The New York State Council on the Arts, a state agency.

Rights: Copyright © Leonarda Productions, Inc., 1998. All rights reserved. Music Publishers: Greyed Sonnets, Chansons Nobles et Sentimentales, and The Magic World: Sounds Alive! Two Songs for Soprano Harp: Lyra Music. Songs of Innocence is available through the Fleischer Collection.


Links to alphabetical list of composers
Bios, MP3s and links to their recordings at this site

 A   B  C-E F-G H-I J-K  L   M  N-Q  R   S  T-V W-Z